About AREA

The Academy is established to provide an organization which will encourage communication and coordination among scientists and educators working in arboriculture and urban forestry through physical, biological, ecological and the sociological sciences. AREA was established in 1973.

AREA supports efforts of faculty, students, and researchers in conducting and disseminating arboricultural & urban forestry research.

AREA supports education pertaining to the management of trees in urban environments at the individual tree or the landscape level. Efforts include the educational sessions at the ISA Annual Conference which are devoted to presenting student and professional research, supporting periodic workshops and seminars, fostering and promoting arboriculture and urban forestry education at colleges and universities, and hosting working groups directed toward research and education in arboriculture and urban forestry.


  • President: Johan Ă–stberg Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, 2020-2021
  • President Elect: Deb Hilbert University of Florida, 2020-2021
  • Vice President: Ryan Klein University of Florida IFAS, 2020-2021
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Jake Miesbauer, The Morton Arboretum, 2020-2021

Executive Committee

  • All Officers
  • Immediate Past President: Eric North - University of Minnesota
  • Representative to ISA CoR: Rich Hauer - University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Recent Past Presidents

  • Alessio Fini, 2018-2019
  • Anand Persad, The Davey Tree Expert Co., 2017-2018
  • Jess Sanders, Casey Trees, 2016-2017
  • Andrew Koeser, University of Florida, 2015-2016
  • Cecil Konijnendijk van den Bosch, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences 2014-2015
  • Greg Dahle, West Virginia University 2013-2014
  • Angela Hewitt, Morton Arboretum 2012-13
  • Kamran Abdollahi, Southern University 2011-2012
  • Rich Hauer, University of Wisconsin Stevens Point 2010-2011
  • Zhu Ning, Southern University 2009-2010
  • Christina Wells, Clemson University 2008-2009
  • Laura Jull, University of Wisconsin 2006-2008
  • Jason Grabosky, Rutgers University 2005-2006

Representatives to Standing ISA Committees

  • Annual Conference & Programing Committee: AREA President
  • Liaison to Editorial Board or Arboriculture & Urban Forestry: AREA VP
  • Council of Representatives (CoR): Rich Hauer
  • Science & Research Committee: Eric North

AREA is a professional affiliation of the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) that brings together scientists, educators, and practitioners to advance science-based education and practice in arboriculture and urban forestry.

Working Groups:
  • Urban Tree Growth

©International Society of Arboriculture 2009-2023
270 Peachtree St NW, Suite 1900 • Atlanta GA 30303 United States • +1.678.367.0981

Email comments and questions to area@isa-arbor.com
Sunday, March 26, 2023 4:53:17 AM (EST/ISA Headquarters Time)
Please click here to view our privacy policy.